Skip to content

Northeastern Ontario stays mostly orange

New Democrats maintain control, but PCs make gains
010622_main party logos composite image

The NDP held onto a good portion of the ridings in northeastern Ontario in the 2022 general election.

The party held onto its seats in Sudbury (Jamie West), Nickel Belt (France Gélinas), Temiskaming-Cochrane (John Vanthof) and Mushkegowuk-James Bay (Guy Bourgouin).

Meanwhile, in the Timmins riding, longtime NDP MPP Gilles Bisson, who held the riding for 32 years, was defeated by former mayor and PC candidate George Pirie, marking the end of an era.

The Tories also held onto the Nipissing riding where Vic Fedeli won handily. In Parry Sound-Muskoka, a riding held by Norm Miller since 2001, elected another Tory after Miller didn’t seek re-election. Graydon Smith is the PC MPP in that riding as of tonight.

In Sault Ste. Marie, PC candidate Ross Romano held onto his seat as well. 

Moving to the northwest, in Thunder Bay-Superior North, a riding held by Liberal Michael Gravelle since 1999, New Democrat Lise Vaugeois claimed victory tonight.

Gravelle announced this year that he would not be seeking re-election after his previous cancer had returned.

Greg Rickford (PC) held onto his seat in Kenora-Rainy River. He will have a friend in the neighbouring Thunder Bay-Atikokan riding as NDPer Judith Monteith-Farrell lost her seat to Tory candidate Kevin Holland.

Two northern ridings were among 19 experiencing delayed results tonight. Results are now in for Kiiwetinoong (where the NDP’s Sol Mamakwa held onto his seat) and for Algoma-Manitoulin (where NDPer Michael Mantha held onto his seat).

Overall, while the results still must be confirmed, Doug Ford led the PCs to a majority government with more than 80 seats. 

The NDP will remain the official opposition with 29 seats (results are still coming in as of this writing). However, the party will serve in that capacity without Andrea Horwath as leader. She announced tonight that she will be stepping down.

Once again, the Liberals will not have official party status having failed to secure the 12 seats needed. Leader Steven Del Duca announced tonight that he will be stepping down as leader.