Skip to content

No new fires in the northeast region

Currently nine active fires across the region
fire ban AdobeStock_102102470
Stock image

No new forest fires have been confirmed in the northeast region as of this afternoon, Aviation, Forest Fire and Emergency Services stated in a release issued today.

Currently, there are nine other active fires in the region. Of these, two are under control and seven are being observed.

The fire hazard ranges mostly from low to moderate across the region this afternoon. 

To see an interactive fire map, click here.

A Restricted Fire Zone that is in effect in most of Ontario’s Northwest Region includes a small portion of Wawa District in the Northeast Region. 

Due to high to extreme forest fire hazard conditions, effective 12:01 a.m. Saturday July 10, the Ontario Ministry of Northern Development, Mines, Natural Resources and Forestry issued updated boundaries for a Restricted Fire Zone in the Kenora, Fort Frances, Dryden and Thunder Bay Districts and portions of the Sioux Lookout, Red Lake, Nipigon and Wawa Districts.  The Restricted Fire Zone will be in effect until further notice. Outdoor fires are banned. Portable gas stoves may still be used, but must be handled with extreme care.  Learn more about Restricted Fire Zones here.

For a more detailed boundary of the Restricted Fire Zone, consult the interactive fire map here or the map here.