Skip to content

Community builders honoured at awards gala

14th annual Community Builders Awards handed out this evening
Community Builders Awards winners (back row L to R) Dave Farrow, Churchill Public School, Christine Verbrugge, accepting on behalf of Edgar Burton, Dr. Denis Roy, Jan and David Buley. (Front row L to R) Mimi Regimbal, Sudbury Credit Union, Christian Pelletier, We Live Up Here, Giuseppe Politi, Erica Lagios, Eat Local Sudbury. Not pictured: Lily Fielding. Photo: Matt Durnan

The 14th annual Community Builders Awards of Excellence were held March 3 at the Caruso Club.

The gala event, presented by Northern Life, honoured community members who have made outstanding contributions to Greater Sudbury.

"Community builders are people who are relentless in pursuit of their passion to make the city of Greater Sudbury a truly great place to live," said Abbas Homayed, Publisher, Northern Life.

"They motivate action and activate positive change. Their vision, creativity, spirit and hard work are the driving force behind out mission to pay tribute to those who create a legacy of opportunity for the city."

This year's winners are as follows:

  • Hall of Fame: Lily Fielding and the Fielding family
  • Arts: We Live Up Here
  • Economic Development: Sudbury Credit Union
  • Education: David and Jan Buley
  • Environment: Eat Local Sudbury Co-Operative
  • Health Care: Dr. Denis Roy
  • Sports and Recreation: Giuseppe Politi
  • Young Leader: Churchill Public School
  • Legacy Award: Edgar Burton


Verified reader

If you would like to apply to become a verified commenter, please fill out this form.