Skip to content
Jobs | Contact | Tip line: 705-673-0123

Byfield named 2019-20 Wolves MVP as team caps off shortened season

Season highlights included captain Macauley Carson setting the franchise record for games played

As the 2019-20 season came to an unexpected, but important ending last week in the fight against COVID-19, the Sudbury Wolves announced their 2019-20 season award winners.

The Wolves finished the 2019-20 campaign with a record of 34-27-1-1 through 63 games, with five games remaining before they were cancelled. 

The season was highlighted by captain Macauley Carson setting the new record for most games played in a Wolves uniform with 304, while teammates, David Levin (eighth) and Shane Bulitka (25th) achieved top 25 finishes with 259 and 235 games respectively. 

A number of Wolves players also had OHL career-best years including all three overage players, Carson, Levin and Sudbury native, Brad Chenier, as well as Carolina Hurricanes prospect Blake Murray, among many

As a team, the Wolves scored the highest goal total in 21 years and received their first division crown since the 2000-01 season, which is planned to be celebrated in September. 

This season also marked the first time that the team had more than 30 wins in back to back season since the 2004-05 and 2005-06 seasons.

“Although it was not how we expected the season to end, our players worked extremely hard during the season on and off the ice and we wanted to recognize them for their efforts,” said Sudbury Wolves VP Hockey Operations and General Manager Rob Papineau. 

“We are very proud of this group as well as our fans and sponsors and we wanted recognize and thank them for their patience and understanding during this unprecedented time. We are planning to be back, stronger than ever this fall, and we look forward to everyone joining us as we celebrate our division title.”

The Sudbury Wolves would like to congratulate all of our players on a fantastic season as well as thank our fans and sponsors for their tremendous support.

The Wolves will now shift their attention to the 2020 OHL Priority Selection set to take place on April 4 beginning at 9 a.m. Fans can follow along online at or on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Season Ticket Holders are also reminded that the early pricing deadline is May 1. 

Fans who purchase their season tickets for next season by May 1 will save $50 per season. The Wolves Office remains closed at this time, but are available or by emailing

Season Tickets can also be purchased online here.

2019-20 Award Winners:

  • Samuel Rothschild MVP – Quinton Byfield
  • Leadership Award – Macauley Carson
  • Bud Burke Top Rookie – Chase Stillman
  • Scholastic Award – Ethan Larmand / Nathan Ribau
  • Community Service Award – Emmett Serensits
  • Joe Drago Players’ Player – Macauley Carson
  • Gord Ewin Most Improved – David Levin
  • Top Plus Minus Player – Quinton Byfield
  • Best Defensive Player – Liam Ross
  • Bill Plaunt Top Scorer – Quinton Byfield
  • Most Goals – Blake Murray
  • Pete Shields Most Assists – Quinton Byfield
  • Top Defenceman – Jack Thompson
  • Playoff MVP – Our Sponsors and Season Ticket Holders