Skip to content
1.1 °Cforecast >
! Mostly Cloudy
Jobs | Contact | Tip line: 705-673-0123

Chaperone takes back-to-back senior's title at Timberwolf

With just two of the four 2013 club champions on hand to defend their titles, it was only Bob Chaperone who could turn the trick at the Timberwolf Golf Club last weekend.
You know summer's coming to an end when golf courses start holding their club championships. Such was the case last week at Timberwolf. File photo
With just two of the four 2013 club champions on hand to defend their titles, it was only Bob Chaperone who could turn the trick at the Timberwolf Golf Club last weekend.

Chaperone became the first back-to-back seniors champ at Timberwolf since 2010, the year in which Marcel Pinard capped an incredible run whereby he would finish first in 11 of 12 year-end tournaments.

Chaperone blistered the course on Saturday, posting a round of 67, and cruising to a 17-stroke win over Garry McCool, with a 72 on Sunday. The summer has been a good one for the former snooker star, carding the fourth-lowest opening round score at the Idylwylde Invitational last month.

He followed that performance with a first-round win over two-time champion Ryan Hagger, falling on the 18th hole to eventual winner Kyle Rank in the quarter-finals. Two weeks ago, Chaperone finished sixth at the Ontario Seniors Championship in Welland, before capturing a one-day seniors event in North Bay last week.

After spending the summer playing the back tees more often than not, the 56-year-old Sudburian had to adjust, just a little, moving things up.

"From the green tees, I'm hitting a lot of short shots in, a lot of wedges," he said. "But you still have to get the ball in the hole.”

Ryan Willoughby likely followed that template in the men's championship as well, combining rounds of 70 and 72 in besting runner-up and 2013 champion Brian McGarry for the crown.

Following a three-year run for Jay Jewett from 2008 through 2010, Willoughby first claimed this prize in 2011, with Chaperone and McGarry rounding out the list of recent winners.

With Melanie Lamarche opting not to tee off in search of a fifth straight ladies title, the door was left wide open for Jennie Gauthier.

The 2013 winner of the Idylwylde Ladies Invitational, Gauthier posted rounds of 80 and 76 to walk away with bragging rights. Finally, Ryan Quinlan stretched a one-stroke lead on Saturday into a comfortable victory in the junior ranks, finishing eight shots better than Tommy Vlahos.

With a two-round score of 158, Quinlan bettered both Vlahos (166) and Nick Brouillard (172) in etching his name onto the clubhouse hardware. Quinlan represents the fifth different junior champion in the past six years, following Dexton Abresch (2009), Chase Woitowich (2010), Steve Gonko (2011/2012) and Nick Quesnel (2013).

Other results of interest included:

Men's Top Five: Ryan Willoughby (142), Brian McGarry (147), Jay Jewett (149), Jamie Vargo (152), Chad Laurin (157), Jim Deng (157)

Men's First Flight: Matt Akerman (161 - retro), Bernie Rancourt (161)

Men's Second Flight: Matt Johnston (170)

Ladies Championship Flight: Jennie Gauthier (156), Linda Gauthier (178), Carol Klus (190), Lisette Raymond (204)

Ladies First Flight: Nancy Parcher (195)

Seniors Championship Flight: Bob Chaperone (139), Garry McCool (156), Ken Ellis (159), Paul Abresch (160), Danny Stack (161)

Seniors First Flight: Peter Michelutti Sr. (165), Mike Jakubo Sr. (170), Bob McKinnon (170)

Seniors Second Flight: Marvin Fitchett (176)

More Sports