Skip to content
Jobs | Contact | Tip line: 705-673-0123

MP Serre announces recipients of the Community Volunteer Recognition awards

Twenty-two Nickel Belt-Greater Sudbury residents recognized for their contributions to the community with a commemorative pin

This past week, Nickel Belt MP Marc Serre hosted the third annual Community Volunteer Recognition awards, celebrating 22 Nickel Belt-Greater Sudbury residents for the contributions they have made to their community.

According to a press release, Serre felt it important to continue acknowledging the selfless acts of residents, as the acting MP has done through previous volunteer recognition awards. 

Based on the quantity of nominations received, it is clear just how much volunteers mean to local organizations and the lives of those they seek to help, said the press release. 

"The community volunteer pin is a symbol of unity, solidarity and inclusion which are fundamental values that are deeply rooted within our communities and drive us to work together for the betterment of the place we proudly call home," Serre is quoted. 

The 2019 Community Volunteer Recognition Awards recipients are:

  • Dolly Gordon-Andrews (Onaping Falls)
  • Fernand Gascon (Hanmer)
  • Claire Paradis (Chelmsford)
  • Gary Michalak (Azilda)
  • Hermance Veilleux (Chelmsford)
  • Gertrude Rheault (Chelmsford)
  • Armande Girouard-Lafrenière (Verner)
  • Ellen Primeau (Coniston)
  • Stella Meilleur (Azilda)
  • René Fournier (Azilda)
  • Marcel Goupil (Azilda)
  • Sandra Boyd (Coniston)
  • Nancy Tyson/Women’s Catholic League (Killarney)
  • Linda Leduc (Field)
  • Kenneth Paquette (Field)
  • Mario Rousseau (Field)
  • Denis Labelle (Field)
  • Ilene Thompson (Capreol)
  • Virginia Langis (Capreol)
  • Rick Mallette (Azilda)
  • Cathy Castanza (Azilda)
  • Steve Rineard (Azilda)