Skip to content
Jobs | Contact | Tip line: 705-673-0123

Peewee A girls ride an even keel to championship win

Lady Wolves grab gold at Brock Jr. Badgers tourney
The Sudbury Peewee "A" Lady Wolves claimed gold at the Brock Jr. Badgers Tournament last weekend. (Supplied)

There was nothing odd about the Sudbury Peewee "A" Lady Wolves championship run at the Brock Jr. Badgers Tournament last weekend.

Scoring only even numbered goals in each and every game (technically, this is correct, though the Lady Wolves played to a scoreless draw in game two with the Toronto Leaside Wildcats - but zero is an even number), the locals remained unbeaten from start to finish.

The Peewee "A" girls opened by doubling the Brampton Canadettes 4-2, with Mya Ricci, Jillian Landry, Izzy Courville and Maya Flores all finding the back of the net once each.

Following a contest in which Sudbury goaltender Daniela Grottoli matched her counterpart with offsetting shutouts, the Lady Wolves offense was right back in high gear, recording their second victory by a count of 4-2, this time over the Scarborough Sharks.

Maya Flores enjoyed an outing to remember, sniping a hat trick, with Jillian Landry netting her second goal of the weekend. From there on in, Sudbury's defensive excellence was matched by their timely scoring at the other end of the rink.

The Lady Wolves avenged their only blemish, blanking the Toronto Leaside Wildcats 2-0 in the semi-final affair as Reese Williamson and Jillian Landry potted one marker apiece, while Daniela Grottoli made it back to back shutouts as the last line of defence for the northern crew.

Under the direction of head coach Darryl Williamson, the team followed exactly the same script in the gold medal encounter, stopping Scarborough 2-0, with Jillian Landry burying the game-winning goal, Sarah Withers picking up an insurance tally, and netminder Leah Murphy keeping this clean down in her crease.

The Sudbury Peewee "A" Lady Wolves roster for 2019-2020 features Daniela Grottoli, Makayla Dunn, Maya Flores, Jillian Landry, Alivia Restoule, Gabby Foreshew, Reese Williamson, Sarah Withers, Tessa Alexander, Amber Rancourt, Haley Moores-Seguin, Mya Ricci, Izabel Courville, Gracey Paul, Kaija Kaltiainen, Cassidy Dutrisac and Leah Murphy.